Skip to:

5th District students appointed to service academies

U.S. Rep. Steny H. Hoyer announced the names of 12 5th District students appointed to the U.S. service academies.
The students, nominated by Hoyer, have accepted offers to the Air Force Academy, the Merchant Marine Academy, the U.S. Military Academy at West Point and the Naval Academy, which all require a nomination from an authorized nominating source.
Hoyer hosted a reception in their honor at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C., where five of the 12 students attended.
“One of the greatest privileges I have as a member of Congress is to nominate talented young people from the Fifth Congressional District to our service academies each year,” Hoyer said in a news release. “The students who have accepted appointments have an exciting journey ahead of them, and I have no doubt that their time at the academies will prepare them to do great things in the future. I am confident that they will represent the Fifth District and the state of Maryland with honor and distinction for years to come.”
The following 5th District students received appointments:
Air Force Academy — Kolbi Holmes, St. Mary’s County, St. Mary’s Ryken High School; Kathryn Kampsen, Calvert County, Northern High School; and Mai-Lin Quinto, Charles County, Henry E. Lackey High School
Merchant Marine Academy — Joseph Springer, Prince George’s County, Archbishop Spalding High School.

Naval Academy — Anthony Cable, Charles County, La Plata High School; John Caniban, St. Mary’s County, St. Mary’s Ryken High School; David Escalera, Anne Arundel County, South River High School; Jordan Hinkle, Prince George’s County, Bishop McNamara High School; and Jay Wallen, Prince George’s County, Rockbridge Academy.
West Point — Jade Jamison, Charles County, Westlake High School; Sean Poiani, Prince George’s County, Archbishop Spalding High School; and Jordan Veal, Prince George’s County, Bowie High School.