Skip to:

Hoyer Attends Democrats of the Year Dinner, Presents Democrat of the Year Award to County Commission President Jack Russell

LEONARDTOWN, MD – Last night, Congressman Steny H. Hoyer (MD-5) attended the annual Democrats of the Year Dinner hosted by the Democratic Club of St. Mary’s County. At the event, he presented the Democrat of the Year Award to the President of the St. Mary’s County Board of County Commissioners, Jack Russell.

“I was honored to join the Democratic Club of St. Mary’s last night to recognize the dedicated service of Commission President Jack Russell, our Democrat of the Year,” stated Congressman Hoyer. “Jack has spent the last eight years presiding over the County Commission with the same skill and care he employed when gracefully captaining his beloved ‘Dee of St. Mary’s.’ As a consensus builder, Jack strongly believes that more can be achieved when we work together than when we stand apart. He has won the respect of his colleagues and constituents and works effectively with members of both parties – becoming the first Democrat to win re-election as Commission President in St. Mary’s County.  I thank him for his commitment as a Commissioner and throughout his life to making St. Mary’s County communities stronger, safer, and filled with opportunities for all of our residents and I congratulate him on this well-deserved honor.” 

In addition to the Democrat of the Year Award, Janice Walthour was presented the Mary Ann Chasen Humanitarian Service Award and Sal Raspa received the John G. Lancsater Award for Leadership. State and local officials also attended the dinner this evening, including Howard County Executive Ken Ulman, Attorney General Doug Gansler, Senate President Mike Miller, Senator Roy Dyson,  Senator Jim Rosapepe, Delegate John Bohanan, Delegate Johnny Wood, and Delegate Keiffer Mitchell.